A two way street.

Connections and networks are built through the exchange of conversation. Queries, interests, and thoughts are shared in order to promote a healthy and workable relationship. Today I attended my first ever recruiting connection fair. My intent wasn’t to find a position for the future, rather to learn what it would be like and what to do in the future at these types of fairs. I learned a lot about myself going to this. First off, maintaining eye contact is quite difficult, especially when you’re listening to the person speak for a long time and have no interest in what they’re saying or have a question in your mind. I guess the best thing to do is be interested, that way it’ll just show that you are. In order to have a meaningful and memorable conversation, meaningful and thoughtful questions must be asked to get good answers, hopefully.

Again, I was asked by another person at work what I plan on doing after I graduate. He was surprised that I didn’t know yet and it was nice though because he started to tell me about some of the possibilities. I’m really grateful for everyone’s interest in my life and their concern. Sometimes though, the concern is overbearing and it overwhelms me because I really do want to give them a definite answer.

It’s nice too to have a friend/roommate who I can talk to about small things and things on my mind. When thoughts are shared, they mean more and you never know who is benefiting from it. I’m glad to have these people in my life and the thing that scares me the most when I graduate is that they aren’t around. They won’t be as accessible as they are now and things are just going to be different. I just hope that two way street won’t get closed because I really like having it and going on it.

About Lynn Vo

I am just another mind with a laptop and fingers that type out the thoughts that invade my brain. I like to share these thoughts because it's extremely selfish of me to keep these thoughts open to only one person who has access to it. Share your thoughts with me and I'll keep them safe.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

