Loving-Kindness.

I had already wrote a post on this but my phone decided not to post it and lose it. Well here goes another post that tries to revive the original.

We read a sutra and a hymn today on loving-kindness and I was exposed to multiple perspectives and gained new knowledge on the matter. First off, loving-kindness is one all-encompassing entity of the separate entities of love and kindness. Put them together and we get a stronger force that can better our lives.

I never really cared for showing loving-kindness. I just thought loving-kindness was something we showed and have rather than a practice to exercise in our life. I never thought about loving others, much less loving them as much as a love my family because they simply aren’t my family. I never thought how loving my family is a burden. I never thought about getting over the hatred and contempt to obtain loving-kindness.

It all makes sense though, because if we have loving-kindness for everything, being careless, not in the sense that you’re clumsy or not mindful rather, loving and not caring about the bitterness and anger you encounter, you’ll be better off. Caring takes too much energy and caring only makes you worry about what other thinks. If you just love everything and accept everything as they are, then you’ll be much happier with yourself. If someone is angry, rather then judging them and being angry with them, you can love them and by showing your love, they may feel happier and you for sure will be happy because you love them and your focus is not to be messed with. This is definitely easier said than done, as with most things. Our natural response to anger is the same anger that is given to us. We forget to take that step back and realize that we make the decision to be angry or pacify the situation.

I just feel that in order to be happier with myself, I need to practice this loving-kindness. Sometimes I do kind things but have no intention of love or kindness and sometimes I have the intent to do something kind but take not action. In both cases, I’m not practicing loving-kindness because they both really go hand in hand. I’m also becoming quite doubtful about these words, especially because of the translation and becomes these are basic thoughts from a man. I have thoughts and my own philosophies of life. I can write and speak them too, but where does my credibility lie? He is a wise one though and I’m glad he makes us aware of the simplicity of things.

 

About Lynn Vo

I am just another mind with a laptop and fingers that type out the thoughts that invade my brain. I like to share these thoughts because it's extremely selfish of me to keep these thoughts open to only one person who has access to it. Share your thoughts with me and I'll keep them safe.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

