College party life.

Senior is the title you get after being in a position for a long time. It’s something you earn through time. The grade level of Senior does not necessary reflect the status of your expertise in academic, but maybe the life of the appropriate primary or secondary level of education. Senior in high school means you were there for 4 years and similar to college. I feel that the only thing it really means is that it’s the end and you better be ready to move on to the next level even if you are ill-prepared. I guess the only thing you’re really ‘senior’ at, in the verb form, is being in the same school for a longer time to be familiar with the school. Well, now that I’m a senior, I have developed some thoughts and viewpoints on the topic of parties. I still remember my naivety of going to one. Drinking was out of the question and I am really glad those people who invited me were not forceful and pressuring me to do something I didn’t want. We all need people like that to help us through our first time of not just partying, but with doing anything for the first time really.

Well, this weekend was a very typical college party scene weekend for me. First time traveling to another university just to attend a party and completely not knowing anyone. It’s interesting though, because most parties are very similar with the crazy drunks, the games, and the corner and couch sitters. I guess because I’ve been attending so many of the same parties throughout my college time and because everyone knows each other at these parties, this party with strange faces surprised me a bit. I’ve come to the conclusion that I do not like parties all that much because I tend to withdraw to familiarity in large social settings. I just like to have the experience, and now that I’ve gotten it under my belt, it feels okay to be more open.

Anyhow, parties are a timeless event, what I actually mean is the drinking. People are too afraid to show their real self so having alcohol lets them escape and climb over this fear and say and do the stuff that is buried deep down the persona of appropriateness they have created. I don’t think drinking is all bad, because it really does alleviate the built up (whatever emotion it is) inside of you but if you can, lay off it. Oh, and those who consume other products and pressure others trying to make them feel uncool, well, the only person you’re hurting is yourself and the only people who think that’s cool is, well, pretty much nonexistence, so good luck finding them in your dazed state of mind.

About Lynn Vo

I am just another mind with a laptop and fingers that type out the thoughts that invade my brain. I like to share these thoughts because it's extremely selfish of me to keep these thoughts open to only one person who has access to it. Share your thoughts with me and I'll keep them safe.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

