Voting. It’s your choice, but what is your choice based on?

Currently in the fraternity I am or was a part of, elections are happening. It got me thinking, our right and privilege to vote is powerful and yet, sometimes we abuse it by not using it or by simply not using a clear level-headed and thoughtful decision. Sometimes the candidates automatically have a vote simply because they are close friends to the voters than their opposing candidate. Obviously, the vote it not made based on anything than the mere relationship between the voter and the candidate. I guess this is why people in office try and make that effort to meet civilians from all over.

Well, in any case, your vote is your vote and it is the choice you make from some conclusion you have came to. Favoritism is no secret, and sometimes I don’t understand why people get so upset. Everyone does it, some obviously more than others just with anything else. The extreme is what we all hate. Either people are extremely favoring others or there is no favoritism at all and in that case, people are a bit more lenient but expect the preferential treatment from their buddies. It’s not fair, but that’s just how things always go because we are social creatures and favoritism helps us develop and foster those bonds that may be an evolutionary trait to help us become stronger and survive.

In all that, I feel that the power of persuasion may be one of the most effective means of eliminating favoritism. With that said, I regret a bit that I did not speak my words of persuasion to those making the votes today. It may have helped, it may not have helped. At least though, I expressed what I wanted and another viewpoint is presented and at least came across their thoughts.

About Lynn Vo

I am just another mind with a laptop and fingers that type out the thoughts that invade my brain. I like to share these thoughts because it's extremely selfish of me to keep these thoughts open to only one person who has access to it. Share your thoughts with me and I'll keep them safe.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

