If you want good tasting kimchi, then you have to wait.

The title is inspired by my mom and I making kimchi together this past weekend. I was craving it so bad I ate it the next day I brought it back to my apartment and it wasn’t so tasty. I waited a few days (3 days) which is today to eat it and it tasted so much better than it did when I ate it on Monday. There’s still room for it to improve though, and this is exactly why I’ll wait another few days to eat it again.

I thought this was also a good metaphor for most desires in our life. Immediate, immediate, immediate gratification! It’s nice to get it, but I realize the gratification only lasts as long as it took to get it. I think I rather have the prolonged gratification even if I have to wait for it a bit, even though the waiting will build up a ton of anxiety. That way, I know when I eventually attain my desire, it’ll be more worthwhile. And, I won’t be so attached because I already lived so long without it.

About Lynn Vo

I am just another mind with a laptop and fingers that type out the thoughts that invade my brain. I like to share these thoughts because it's extremely selfish of me to keep these thoughts open to only one person who has access to it. Share your thoughts with me and I'll keep them safe.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

