Ending the week with a lesson from the young.

I finally met my mentee today and she was a doll. A fourth grader who is tiny, but has the brains and heart of a much more sophisticated and mature person. I have already learned so much from the few hours I spent with her. Her enthusiasm and zest to learn anything and everything inspires me to be a happier and more delightful person. She’s shy, but only at first, and definitely not shy at the things she likes to do. This quality is something I really need emphasize in myself. She just likes to play and have fun and leave the stress of the world behind for the moment. I can see great potential in her to become a person other people would like to be. I hope that through the interaction we will have in the following months, I can build in her, a force of ambition that can not be reckoned with.

It’s a bit crazy what you can learn from someone much younger. We often think that learning from an experienced, needless to say, older person is the best way to be taught. Sometimes though, it’s nice to take a step back and learn from a more simple-minded individual. It’s funny because she thinks I’m the one who will teach her more, but she really doesn’t know that I’m actually learning from her.

Also, just wanted to wish everyone a happy lunar new year! I really wanted to go home to celebrate and do the festivities with my family, but transportation issues are always a problem. Well, here’s to a beautiful and brilliant new year! Horses are amazing by the way.

About Lynn Vo

I am just another mind with a laptop and fingers that type out the thoughts that invade my brain. I like to share these thoughts because it's extremely selfish of me to keep these thoughts open to only one person who has access to it. Share your thoughts with me and I'll keep them safe.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

