Business, what isn’t a business?

Learning about different companies, their mission, their values, and all aspects of the foundation their company is built on, and in the end, it seems to me that every company shares one thing in common, they are a business.

I’ve always aspired to work in the health field because I felt it was the most direct way to help people. However, the business aspect of it never occurred to me and after today, I’m really disappointed to learn that it is a business. The irony is what makes it so disappointing. The establishment of health care is to help people. These establishments seems to be helping those providing the help more than those receiving the help, in terms of financial stability anyway. Financial stability though, has been one of the largest factors that contribute to these health problems and sometimes can be the cause. I’m sadden by the truth of it all but mostly, I’m sadden by the fact that there may be some people out there that claim they want to help people, but without the incentive of their paychecks, their willingness vanishes. What I’m most grieved and stricken by is the mental health field, the field that I’ve always held a deep interest in. Mental health is unique because we don’t know the cause of the damage. It’s a frightening thing, the labels and diagnoses that gets tossed and attached onto individuals. The most frustrating thing, is that the diagnoses are given even if the person fits all aspect of normalcy, but the diagnosis is needed to be made in order to process a bill.

This thought makes me reevaluate my desire to enter such a field. I feel I may be selling out my truest passion. I really don’t want to be that person and I only want to help those who need it and not make those who are okay feel they’re not. The feeling is unnecessary and they are perfect the way the are. Most industries are a business because the only way anything survives nowadays is with money. If I can find something that doesn’t live on money, that would be a wonder.

About Lynn Vo

I am just another mind with a laptop and fingers that type out the thoughts that invade my brain. I like to share these thoughts because it's extremely selfish of me to keep these thoughts open to only one person who has access to it. Share your thoughts with me and I'll keep them safe.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

