A dictionary is for the curious.

I had the honor to meet one of the writers of the Princeton Dictionary of Buddhism today. He was a marvelous human being and his work is purely magnificent. To dedicate more than a decade of your life for something and have it finally come out, it’s wondrous. To dedicate your life and work into something you live by and something you hold such deep interest for, that’s unbelievably perfect.

I’ve always took for granted the invention of a dictionary. I always tried to figure out the definitions of words I didn’t know by reading the context, but I never fully understood and still don’t understand what those words meant, I just assumed the definition. The resourcefulness and knowledge it contains, dictionaries are probably one of the greatest academic tool that is vastly overlooked.

Buddhism has never occurred to me to be an academic thing, more like a practice that I just grew up around, but never understood or never thought of much. The fact that there is a legitimate text to define all the terms I never knew existed that stems from this religion, it’s no longer something that surrounds me that I don’t understand or have no reach to, it’s something now that I have the opportunity to grasp.

I’m not saying that I’m a Buddhist, but it’s nice to know that I can learn about it. I think giving a chance to believing in something really adds to the security of being human. It’s nice to have something to believe in and to be curious about it. It makes me know that I am able to analytically think about it.

About Lynn Vo

I am just another mind with a laptop and fingers that type out the thoughts that invade my brain. I like to share these thoughts because it's extremely selfish of me to keep these thoughts open to only one person who has access to it. Share your thoughts with me and I'll keep them safe.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

