New name, new identity?

Same you.

I feel that our name is a big part of what is considered our identity. After all, it is called your IDentification card. It’s interesting though, because a name is simply a word that people know you by, that is purely a label so you can be a unique individual. It doesn’t reveal much of who you are at all, because really, no one ever gets to pick their name. (In some cases I guess you get to choose, but you always have that name given to you at birth that will always be part of your identity.) I’ve join a camp and in many camps, you get to come up with a new name for yourself. I’ve chosen one that doesn’t follow the regular concept of being who I want to be. I decided to choose a word I like. The choice is random, really. This tradition supposedly evolved from a girl who wanted to be smart and when she went to camp, she told everyone to call her ‘smart’ and eventually she felt smart. It’s a warm story.

For me, I want to be a lot of different things. But this is exactly what it is, a want. I thought about it and rather than wanting to be something else, I rather just be myself because that’s who I’m best at being. I mean, I constantly try to be a better me and challenge myself everyday. In the end, I’m still going to be the me that is me even with all the flaws and ugly that I get to experience. Some great experiences, too. I do like the idea of creating a new name for yourself though. I feel like being called something else or being known by another name in your life is pretty exciting. After all, you are going to be called your name for the rest of your life anyway, so a change for a bit of time is a novelty.

About Lynn Vo

I am just another mind with a laptop and fingers that type out the thoughts that invade my brain. I like to share these thoughts because it's extremely selfish of me to keep these thoughts open to only one person who has access to it. Share your thoughts with me and I'll keep them safe.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

