The worst and best thing about writing, you decide when it’s complete.

Taking a break from writing a final paper, probably the last final paper of my undergraduate career, to write this blog instead. Why? Because I’ve been meaning to write and I can’t believe it’s been a month since I last did. There’s a lot we need to catch up on and I’m not going to catch you fully up just yet.

Well I do get to choose when my writing is complete. On the other hand, that is just my problem. I am almost at the completion part, but the ability to choose when to end it and not add any more thoughts and arguments is prolonging my progression to completion. I just don’t know if it’s sufficient and if I can be satisfied with turning in what I have. There’s so much more I think I could add, but I don’t know if these additions are even necessary. It’s like rambling, I just want to do it because I feel it’s better to say more than to forget and never have the chance to let it out. I’ve done this most of my life and I am trying to be more proactive about changing it. Not sure if it’s change for the better or for the worst, but we’ll see where it takes me.

So, a week from now the graduating class of 2014 at UCLA is going to be in celebration of their completion of college. The abundant of mixed emotions are about to explode on us all, or maybe they already have. Taking that stage is what we’ve all been working up to, I guess. It’s more than just the stage, it’s the conversion of undergraduate student to whatever the next stage each individual has chosen for themselves. Whatever it is, they won’t be in the same place ever again. I guess it’s nice to celebrate and symbolize this transition state. Even if it’s graduate school for some people, it’s not undergrad. It’s not the same. Undergrad is the place where we’ve been to learn what we want to become. It’s the place we have lived in for the past four years to get up to the point we are now. The force of decision we have to make because time is supposedly up, that’s what undergrad seems to be. The security of academia is slowly fading and letting us go and it’s no doubt leaving fear in our hearts. We are now the choosers of our own path of life. The choosers of what we want to do, what we want to become, what we want to put all the experiences, skills, and abilities into to make us live this life in a way that’s enjoyable. We’ll all adapt to the next years of whatever life we have, but recognizing that the current one is changing is scary. Well I’ll end it here so I can get back to handling the wheels of my life. We can expect a reflection piece in the near future. Just remember these very last moments vividly and with happiness.

About Lynn Vo

I am just another mind with a laptop and fingers that type out the thoughts that invade my brain. I like to share these thoughts because it's extremely selfish of me to keep these thoughts open to only one person who has access to it. Share your thoughts with me and I'll keep them safe.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

