A continuing journey.

A week due but better late than never. 

In my daily practice this week, I started to notice that I enjoyed postures other than sitting much more. I felt that standing helped me be more alert and the transition to sit was much smoother. I am still practicing at night since there is just so much going on in the day. This has been great because I get to relieve myself from all the business of the day and really focus on something simple like my breath or just my feet. When I am doing the standing meditation, I notice that I am naturally swaying and shifting my weight between my feet. There seems to be a heaviness in it and it is nice to feel that I can move it around. Using the body scans during meditation has really been great and has helped me observe my physical presence better. At first, every time I focus my attention to a part of my body, I have an urge to move it into a different position. After resisting this temptation, my body felt more comfortable because my body is in its most natural position and I don’t have to keep changing it to feel comfortable. As well, the body scans have really helped me not give into my pain so much. There would be small itches here and there, and naturally the urge to itch it so it would go away arise, but instead I try to observe it and not jump on that train and instead just watch and eventually I can see it go away. The bringing my attention back to my feet or my breath has really made me notice much more how I can be in control. In addition, with the recent rise in temperature (my apartment gets pretty hot), I have been able to really feel the sensation of heat on my skin and the warmness of my surroundings after scanning my body. Instead of wanting to cool down, I just felt content with where I am in the moment and observed that I can be okay in this environment.

About Lynn Vo

I am just another mind with a laptop and fingers that type out the thoughts that invade my brain. I like to share these thoughts because it's extremely selfish of me to keep these thoughts open to only one person who has access to it. Share your thoughts with me and I'll keep them safe.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

