Good morning Vietnam

We have successfully landed and visited two cities in Vietnam. With only a day to spend with my relatives here, I already felt the familiarity with the people and the lifestyle that I had seen the last time I visited. To them it felt so long ago, to me it doesn’t seem too long since the count of years in my life have only really started when I turned 10. However, my last trip when I was 8 years old was a while back and their memories of me as a child only made me realize that they are growing older and not much change has taken place for them while my life was being developed. I feel bad because my trip is a trip for my own self to see what I want, rather than a trip to see and spend time with family. Well, it’s nice that I’ll be coming back for 2 days, then I hope I can really get a chance to connect with them. I’m definitely coming back to Vietnam again.

I am so much more appreciative of the life I get to live back in the United States and at the same time disgusted by what we have been taking for granted every day we live and the complaints we constantly spew about life’s injustice. A life not having to worry about surviving day to day rather a life worrying about becoming the best and getting more and more is what we have in the U.S. Here in Vietnam, their primary concern is to be able to live another day even if that means they have to do some awful things to get the resources they need. They are okay with sitting around all day. There is no rush for time. Even the speed limit on the freeway is only 40kmph equalling to a residential area speed limit of 25 mph in the U.S. Kids get to play all day and night except for when you go to school. The only expectation for girls is to be able to marry a husband who can support her and potentially support her family. What is a career? Doing what allows you to bring home food and provide shelter. What is marriage? A conjoining of two parties to create a family that can survive. What is a future? A family that is able to live contently.

I’m really glad to be able to see the origins of the life that my family came from. It allows me to understand better why they do the things they do and why they say the things they say and why we are who we are. How you were reared and where you were reared are two important aspects of your childhood that really shapes who you become. It determines the boundaries of your aspirations and influences your character and how you choose to react to situations, which in turns shows your personality. There is a reason why there are race terms like Vietnamese people or White people or Black people, we all share something. There are still so many things in this country I’ve yet to experience and being a visitor is limiting my ability to do so. There are also so much of the world I wished my family could see and I really hope one day soon I can provide them with the opportunity. I have been being selfish with what I want to see but they are stuck in the same life they’ve been leading for the past few decades and can only know about what is out there through hearing stories and seeing pictures. So many people in this world, so many resources to go around.

About Lynn Vo

I am just another mind with a laptop and fingers that type out the thoughts that invade my brain. I like to share these thoughts because it's extremely selfish of me to keep these thoughts open to only one person who has access to it. Share your thoughts with me and I'll keep them safe.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

