Saigon. Con nhớ bà ngoại.

image

Saigon at night.

image

Saigon during the day.

I miss this beautiful city. Like all cities, Saigon captures the essence of a more developed society with busy people and toxic that damages your lungs. Though it’s more developed than other cities in Vietnam, there’s still a feeling of that Vietnamese culture. People still sell food on the streets and we still bargain like crazy. Even locals can be robbed and hustled. (As proven by my shopping experience with my uncle.)

I’m missing this like crazy and especially missing the people. After having a chat with my mom about Vietnam, I’m starting to have the feels all over again. I miss my grand aunts, the uncles, the kids, and even random strangers in the streets. I miss being pampered and cared for by them. I miss feeling that connection and just sitting there and having their presence with me. I miss looking at them. I miss speaking Vietnamese and hearing it all the time. I miss the air. I miss the culture. I miss the life. I miss everything about Vietnam. And I miss you grandma. There’s just this connection with you and going back to Vietnam that I’ve been feeling and it’s making me deeply nostalgic.

I haven’t felt this longing for you for a while and I just can’t stop missing you. I’m so limited with my memories and visions of you and I just keep recyling them in my mind and my emotions just erupt in yearning to have more and to have you in my life for a longer time. I’ve never expressed these words but I really love you and wished you hadn’t left me so early. I didn’t even know you left me until later on and this is the part that sucks the most. I long for you every time someone brings you up. I’ve learned so much about you from everyone else. I hope one day I can become a fraction of the person you are so I can show the world how much heart you have and how much of it you give to others. I miss you so much.
Saigon misses you. Sunnyvale misses you. This world misses you. I hate that I’m in this world without you.

About Lynn Vo

I am just another mind with a laptop and fingers that type out the thoughts that invade my brain. I like to share these thoughts because it's extremely selfish of me to keep these thoughts open to only one person who has access to it. Share your thoughts with me and I'll keep them safe.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

