The little things.

It really is the little things in life that make life worth living and happiness the desire. Buying new shampoo bottles because of the new scent you get to lather on yourself for the next few weeks, getting a gift card at Target when you buy 3 or more bottles, finishing your chap stick without ever losing it, finding coins at the bottom of your purse or in your pockets and paying those few cents in order to get a quarter back or larger change back, trying new food trucks just because it’s there, strangers opening doors for you and willing to wait for you to walk, getting cash back when you use your credit card, your housemate giving you food to add to your plain old ramen, the bus coming on time, the bus coming when you Obama decides to come for two weeks causing Los Angeles to be a huge traffic jam after 8pm, and the reaction on someone’s face when you are able to communicate with them.

Tonight I was able to use a skill I have been so fortunate to develop through my family and living in this world, language. Because I can speak Vietnamese, I was able to ask a patient at the hospital today what toy or things she wanted. Her father’s reaction when he heard me speak the same tongue that is so familiar made me feel like I have formed a bridge that allowed us to connect. The smile that formed on her face because she was able to finally understand the words of someone other than her family at the hospital made my heart melt and see the strength that language has in communication. Being able to understand what she wanted, I was able to provide her with a little happiness for a small wish fulfilled. I felt so much power because I was able to make her day and fulfill such a simple request that had been misunderstood for a while.

These truly are the little things and they all add up to something. These little things are what I look back on and felt that happiness surge through my emotions.

I feel like most people often complain about things and they complain because things that happen to them are things out of the ordinary. If someone doesn’t open the door for us, we are more likely to say something about it and remember that person as unkind, but when they do, we most likely don’t remember it. It’s almost like an expectation, that people do these small nice things. When they don’t, it upsets us a bit, which in turn, stays in our mind and becomes stories we share. This is exactly the ironic thing that people do. They choose to remember the negative things and choose to feel something about it. In the same way we choose to remember or develop an opinion about the unkind things that happen to use, we can choose to remember the good things and share the good things. If we focus on the good things and appreciate it more in our lives, we will probably see that there are much more positive and kind things compared to the negative things we complain about.

We’re all trying to find happiness, but we should also let it find us.

Good things, good people, good vibes, good living.

About Lynn Vo

I am just another mind with a laptop and fingers that type out the thoughts that invade my brain. I like to share these thoughts because it's extremely selfish of me to keep these thoughts open to only one person who has access to it. Share your thoughts with me and I'll keep them safe.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The little things.

  1. A lovely post. Thank you.
    It must have been a magical moment for that little girl to hear her own language in the middle of such a foreign environment.

Leave a Reply

