What’s the rush?

To a life you are may or may not be satisfied with? To get to the finish line of a race you don’t want to be a part of? To pass others? Or rushing to catch up with time that has passed?

I understand the need to feel that we’re living life with a purpose. Sometimes though, I feel that people I know or come across, are rushing for this purpose and it’s counterproductive. They just want something – a title, a career, a defined future, all of which are things we all are searching for, but why are we all so okay with ending this search as soon as possible? I think the best part of the whole process, is the search itself. Ultimately, we will find what is it that we really like or even love, and sometimes we already found it but we just have to find it again because we lost it in the continuous search process. Through this search, we get to experience how it fits or not fit into our world.

What I hope no one does in this world is that they stop and settle for that last discovery, just because it is convenient to move on and not because it is the most beautiful and precious thing they have came across, something that makes the life they’re living a brighter place and a place worth being.

This is the time in my life and most of my friend’s life where we are ‘at a lost’. We are young and at the age where we should start developing our life, meaning our career and future. I have a friend who I feel is rushing to pick a career, but what she really should be doing is taking the time to actually experience these careers and seeing if it is something that fits her life and that she fit it. Or even, to gain more experience herself instead of listening to others’ experiences. She’s rushing to the future, when she should be living in the moment. If she really focused on what is in the now, the experiences are true and real, she doesn’t have to imagine and make up a life in the future that most likely won’t come the way she imagined. I just feel like many of the people my age are so focused on the future, that they forget that they have to live in the present first. I mean, I get that planning for your future is just as important, but what’s the purpose of that plan? To be happy when we get there. But why can’t we be happy AS we get there? I feel like some people are choosing to settle, because they think that this will allow them to be happy in the future because one of the best things about being human is that we adapt. Sometimes though, why can’t we progress ourselves a bit and do something that challenges us? Even if it takes up more of our time. We all want to do something remarkable or be happy, but by playing it safe, we fuel the stagnation that we have limited ourselves to.

But who made up this stage of life? Society, I guess. And we are all victims of societal pressures and human judgments.

Anyhow, that’s for another topic. What I really want to say is that even though I view my friends as being on their way to success or on their way to a life unfulfilled or they view me as being at a good spot in my life or being lost, these are purely projections placed by someone watching from the outside. Even the seemingly happiest person, may not be happy. The only projection that really matters and is honest and true, is the projection from the individual themselves. It can become an amazing scene of beauty when these projections are shared and a brighter and stronger projection can be created and activated.

About Lynn Vo

I am just another mind with a laptop and fingers that type out the thoughts that invade my brain. I like to share these thoughts because it's extremely selfish of me to keep these thoughts open to only one person who has access to it. Share your thoughts with me and I'll keep them safe.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

