Conviction.

Recently met up with a friend who shared so many stories of his summer that really changed him. I guess you can say it changed his life, well because he said it. One thing I got away from his stories and his new-found perspective of the “bright side” is conviction. He spoke with much more conviction and confidence. These two traits brought out an illuminating light in his speech and an alluring look in his eyes. Listening to his words, I could get a sense of what he means, even if it just was my interpretation, I felt a bit of envy of his experiences.

Conviction can be expressed in many ways and when one has it in their speech or actions, the expression becomes stronger by two-fold. If you don’t have conviction in what you say, then what makes other people take your words with any impact? I feel that people must truly believe and say what they say with conviction in order for others to believe them too, or at least, to empathize with what is being said. Sure, this is most useful in careers such as sales, but it’s also a great habit to adopt in life in general. Sometimes I learn a lot more about myself when I am speaking, words just seem to flow out of a space I never knew I kept them in when I let the honesty flow out of the filter-less conversations. With the filters that we place on our words though, we learn to convey meaning in different ways. and even this allows us to learn the meanings in our words.

This is something I am trying to learn to practice more and more. The words I say are a reflection of my thoughts, consequently a reflection of who I am, my identity. Thus, I do not want any of the words I say hereon to be anything shy of what I am feeling and of the honesty that I try to uphold. Of course, it’s an inevitable thing to say things to please others when you truly don’t mean them or say things out of anger or the emotional takeover that you get in certain situations, so I just hope to be more careful and say my words with conviction.

Be more mindful of my words. Be more mindful of my actions. Be more mindful of this life.

Mindfulness. I believe we all have it, we just have to focus more.

About Lynn Vo

I am just another mind with a laptop and fingers that type out the thoughts that invade my brain. I like to share these thoughts because it's extremely selfish of me to keep these thoughts open to only one person who has access to it. Share your thoughts with me and I'll keep them safe.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

