Wired and disconnected.

The lonely life sucks. I guess this is why social media is so great. It makes us feel connected to the world, without really needing the company right then and there. It’s probably why I like to blog, I feel like I’m speaking to someone. In actuality, no one is actually reading this, or even if there were some people, none of whom I know or will ever get the chance of meeting.

During my traveling period, I was in the midst of writing a post about how wired and connected my friends were and how much it bugged me. I wanted to travel to get away from the world, but all they seemed to do was try to reconnect themselves to the world we flew away from. This is what I had written:

This post itself is counterproductive and hypocritical but I’ve been getting bothered by it recently on this trip with my friends. What’s the point of traveling if you’re on your phone all the time. Our eyes are so glued to our phone screens that we let the life of different cultures pass us by. We’re so connected to the social media world that even though we’re lucky enough to travel to different places of this marvelous world that we get sucked into the social media world automatically once we get wifi. All we think about is how much social media attention we can attain from traveling the world that sometimes I feel we forget and lose the meaning of traveling.

Now, one of those friends has expressed the distaste and dislike for the lonely lunches she has since she just started working. Maybe I’m being a bit selfish and unfriendly, but it made me a bit glad she feels this way. And it’s not just directed for her, but for all of us who has become so attached to all these technological devices and constantly connected to a social media network. For one reason, it’s because I’m hoping she realizes how wired she is and how every time we have the company of our friends and others, we abuse it and go on our phones instead, probably trying to find a connection with someone else. When we’re alone and do not have that physical body that sits across from us while we dine out, we truly realize the extent of companionship that our phones can give us.

Another funny thing is that we see others doing it all the time and because of this, it’s become a norm and acceptable. Because being alone and not caught up in something on the internet is just so not cool. You have to be connected. I don’t think so.

Well, I just feel a bit sad and pitiful for all of us out there trying to fit in by trying to seem busy or already fitted in somewhere else. Why does it seem like being free and just sitting there with nothing to do such a negative thing? Are we cooler just because we have someone else who wants to talk to us through these social media? Or is it just me who feels this way?

I’m not saying I’m someone who doesn’t use my phone or completely detached from it. I do, and just even yesterday because I was busy looking at it, I missed looking up at the bus to call for it and had to wait an extra 20 minutes for the next one. I don’t even remember what I was looking or doing on it, but needless to say, it was not at all important. The only reason I took it out and started using it was because of the other bus rider who was using his phone for music and he just seemed so cool since he had something to do as he kept looking and pressing on his phone.

I’m becoming more aware of these habits we have as we rather focus our eyes on the screens of our devices versus on the people or sights that are physically in front of us. As a person who doesn’t like to be dependent, this is something I’m growing ill of being trapped into as society makes it seem so normal and even sometimes ‘preferred’ because it’s cool. I just want a refresher for my eyes, to look at something without the barrier of a screen.

Maybe it’s just me ranting because I guess there isn’t much for me to do on social media, well except for rant and talk to an unknown blogosphere. I get bored so quickly. Maybe it’s just me being envious of others having so many connections to others in their life and always have someone to talk to. Nevertheless, I’d rather live in this life with all of the natural wonders and repetitive and mundane days so as not be attached to an overly crazed social network that brings about envious and self-pitiful thoughts and comparisons that only exists in my mind. I’m just starting to get tired of the half-truths. I’d rather be reading real and meaningful words if I’m using the internet than look at the self-promoting pictures of faces and one-sided boastful pictures of the good life that people choose to share. It’s just hard to leave when the real companionship I’m seeking is not really there.

About Lynn Vo

I am just another mind with a laptop and fingers that type out the thoughts that invade my brain. I like to share these thoughts because it's extremely selfish of me to keep these thoughts open to only one person who has access to it. Share your thoughts with me and I'll keep them safe.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

