Aging: A Necessary Evil.

Year after year, we celebrate birthdays, holidays, anniversaries, and the new year. All of these celebrations have one thing in common: Time.

Every celebration that is celebrated is celebrated because of the time since it has passed. We celebrate it because it survived -to the memories from the start and the unpredictable events of the future. I think it’s a great thing, celebration. It allows us to acknowledge and reflect on the little victories we get living in this life.

Not to be a downer in the festivities, but these celebrations come with a small grey cloud, the realization that so much time has passed and an innocence of young and fresh is going astray. I guess it’s the inevitable truth, something is nearing the end. After counting how many of these celebrations we have in our life, that feeling of aging and nothing will be the same again comes along. Aging is nice because we get to establish ourselves as a product of a past, present, and future. Nevertheless, it’s not many people’s favorite process. Aging, well simply, is aging. We get old and getting old comes with all the stigma of an old person. The biggest thing it seems to me is that it limits us from doing so many things.

Through my conversations with my friends, family, and even coworkers/supervisors, I’ve realized that everything centers around this idea of time and plans for the future and doing all the things we want to do before that future comes. Planning for the future always makes time seem like it is moving so fast, even though it’s the only constant thing in my life. I guess this is why I don’t like thinking so far and rather live in the moment, I want to keep this constant and consistency. Though I can’t help my thoughts from going toward the future, I would like to think that the future will come in just as soon as the past had gone and the moments are being lived, a constant speed but not a constant routine.

Fully inspired right now and many times before and after by the song “I Lived” by One Republic. It probably captures the essence of how I feel in this stage of my life.

I just want to age with my experiences and living.

About Lynn Vo

I am just another mind with a laptop and fingers that type out the thoughts that invade my brain. I like to share these thoughts because it's extremely selfish of me to keep these thoughts open to only one person who has access to it. Share your thoughts with me and I'll keep them safe.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

