Are we ever safe?

I currently live in what is known as a nice neighborhood, a residential area with nice big houses with matching luxury cars. When I moved in a few months ago into the room I am renting, I was pretty happy about the neighborhood I get to explore and to live in and one thing I didn’t have to think about was being safe.

However, this has drastically changed since last’s week incident of the break in. I didn’t feel safe going to sleep for a few nights and it’s probably been one of the most prolonged fear I’ve been holding on to. Where I live is supposed to be a place I can lay free and be care free and be comforting, but instead I have to constantly be vigilant.

This is really a first world problem because we always take our safety for granted. There are people in this world struggling to survive everyday and I can’t even imagine all the danger and hazardous things that they are exposed to and all the awful things they have to endure. Here I am writing about my fear because some people came in and messed up all things in my home. I just feel that my privacy has been violated and it’s just so unexpectedly unfortunate. I guess it’s all relative.

We just installed an alarm and I feel like it’s more of a burden to be safe than it should be. But I’m being ungrateful and a bit lazy to take the precautions. It just made me realize how in any place or in any world that bad things happen and even though on the larger scale it is not as bad as others, it stills affects a person and causes saddened and frightful feelings.

Fear is probably the worst feeling I think a person can have and I just hope that the feeling is minimized as much as possible in every person.

About Lynn Vo

I am just another mind with a laptop and fingers that type out the thoughts that invade my brain. I like to share these thoughts because it's extremely selfish of me to keep these thoughts open to only one person who has access to it. Share your thoughts with me and I'll keep them safe.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

