Good friends vs. Great friends

So I wrote a competition article: http://theculturetrip.com/asia/thailand/articles/3-cities-you-must-visit-in-thailand-/ and basically to win I need the most viewership within three months.

Of course I shared this with people I consider friends and I believe support me. I have a group of girlfriends that I guess would be considered the closest to me. I’m realizing that right now they are “good” friends and I’m a little disappointed to say that because I thought they were my “great” friends. I’m realizing the difference. They tell me to share my article on facebook, and that’s what good friends do, but I feel like great friends don’t tell me to share it, they share it themselves, without me asking.

I don’t want to share my article on facebook because I don’t feel that the people on my facebook would care enough about it anyway. And to be quite honest, I don’t think it’s my best piece so I don’t want to share it with people who know me. I rather have people I don’t know read it, ergo I was hoping my friend shares it for me since I don’t know all of their friends.

I just feel like there are more ways to support me if they are my friends and sharing it doesn’t take that much effort but they won’t do it, but for some reason want me to do it. Maybe it’s all because we think the same, what we share is a reflection of who we are. Of course I understand I am supposed to share my own piece. Maybe my expectation of their support is too high and maybe I’m thinking about it too much and having unnecessary emotional feelings about my friendships. Of course I can’t talk to them about it because then the friendship would be tensioned and I just don’t want that at all. It’s just me being me and criticizing others because they are not what I want them to be and that is my first problem right there. Just feeling low on the support levels these days.

About Lynn Vo

I am just another mind with a laptop and fingers that type out the thoughts that invade my brain. I like to share these thoughts because it's extremely selfish of me to keep these thoughts open to only one person who has access to it. Share your thoughts with me and I'll keep them safe.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

