Momentum

I had the fortunate opportunity to attend my first ever TEDx talk today. In addition, using my first benefit as an alumni to my Alma Mater, go Bruins! Although not one of those official TED talks, this local talk still provided an effort to inspire its viewers and audience, and it sure did. Especially since I am familiar with this community and we all share something in common, a blue and gold experience, it made it feel real and it made these people real and visible to me. Initially I was nervous about the talk because you just never know how your presenter is going to perform and especially with this dynamic group of people, how intense it may feel.

Inspired and hopeful with an underlying anxious feeling, I am feeling the momentum of riding on the road to live out my dreams and executing my goals and aspirations. All from different backgrounds and all with a solid understanding of their identity, the speakers today showed me what it is like to become who you are and who you envision yourself to be. It’s okay to have setbacks in your life. This makes you who you will become. With lost, you have more to gain, as Jennifer Hirsh had said. Her story made me feel connected. It made me feel and allowed me to know that these inspirational people are just people and they are inspirational because they kept their strength with them even when life tried to take it away. They found strength in other means. They let time be their friend and not their enemy. They absorbed the power and cultivated enough to use it to boost their momentum into action towards their objective.

I began to think of this whole idea of momentum, how it happens more than once in life. Momentum is like the bow and I am the arrow that gets pulled back and once ready, I am propelled towards my target so I can strike it with all my force.

I know this inspirational feeling may fade away soon enough, but I just want to remind myself I can capture it again.

About Lynn Vo

I am just another mind with a laptop and fingers that type out the thoughts that invade my brain. I like to share these thoughts because it's extremely selfish of me to keep these thoughts open to only one person who has access to it. Share your thoughts with me and I'll keep them safe.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Momentum

  1. jknabl2 says:

    Loved this post! Recent grad here trying to figure out how to achieve my goals as well and coincidently enough watched an inspiring ted talk online today as well! Check out the ted talk by Ben Nemtin of ‘The Buried Life’ tv series if you’re looking for more inspiration!

Leave a Reply

