Innovation or Re-innovation?

Our current society is thriving with what is considered new every day. New apps, new phones, new tv shows, new movies, new foods, new. But is this really all new? Or a remix of recycled products and ideas? The basic fundamental idea seems to exist already, but the implementation and execution is different.

I told a friend once about how I was learning in my political philosophy class about Aristotle and Kant (and other philosophers who I cannot remember) and how the idea of stagnation was brought up. I guess the idea stayed with him because it was about 3 years ago when we had this conversation. The concept still holds true though. Our society has become stagnant but it has been masked by a cycle and recycling of products. Originality has become a highly sought after gem. We all have ideas and it may be original to us, but when we share our ideas, we soon see that others have the same idea and may have developed it already, thus invalidating our idea as original.

I was on a brainstorm frenzy earlier today in pursuit of creating an app and user friendly service for travelers. I began to prepare documents, jot down all of my ideas and conduct a plan of action. The enthusiasm for development kicked in and my heart felt an adrenaline. I felt like I was on my way to creating a product that was unique and useful. Little did I know, a product with analogous features of what I had envisioned has already been created and used for a while now. Invalidation of an idea took place and the zeal was taken down with it. Then I thought, my idea wasn’t that original to began with. I’ve simply took an already established idea and tried to create a different platform for it through means of a different medium. The execution was going to be different. I thought it was innovative but really it was more re-innovative because I was modifying an existing idea, not creating a completely new idea.

There’s absolutely nothing wrong with re-innovation.  It’s how we become efficient and better services and even ourselves every day. It’s a changing process and change is a great thing. It’s just a bit scary to think that pure innovation is a wild luxurious gem. I don’t want to think that we as society has become stagnant but it almost seems that way when genuine new-ness hasn’t seem to appear for a while. Can we really used the word innovation to describe different products that keep coming and will come out? I just don’t want to revert back so much that it becomes too hard to go forward.

So if we think about it, almost everything is already in existence, the execution of it and bringing it into light is what we have to do. I don’t think we’ve hit a wall or anything, or if there is even an existence of a wall, I think we’ve exhausted a resource and the new challenge is to find another resource. We just have to put a little more into our thoughts.

About Lynn Vo

I am just another mind with a laptop and fingers that type out the thoughts that invade my brain. I like to share these thoughts because it's extremely selfish of me to keep these thoughts open to only one person who has access to it. Share your thoughts with me and I'll keep them safe.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

