Continuous years of time. A delayed Hello to 2016.

Greetings 2016!

Although it has been a few weeks since your arrival and my welcome has been long delayed, I just started to feel ecstatic that you are here. In all honestly, your arrival was anti-climatic. I barely made it to the last few seconds of 2015 with my exhaustion from the day, and slightly the buildup from the year. Again, I celebrated the new year with my family and we took our shot of apple cider and cheered.

This celebration felt different from the past years. I was not holding onto the remnants of the previous year as I usually do or anticipating new differences for the next year. I remember when I was younger I would always say things like, “This is our last meal of the year” or “I’ll be the first to drink hot cocoa this year”. I was letting the year determine my first and last.

I realize now that years are not ends or beginnings. I mean yes, we do recycle the months so it may seem this way, but years are a continuous measure of time. Every year, I bring with me all the experiences I’ve developed in all my previous years into the new year. Some I would not like to keep, others I cherish and hope remain beyond the new year.

Another reason the celebration felt different was because I did not celebrate it with my extended family, and in that sense, we didn’t keep new year traditions of fat loading and causing raucous through board games. We did uphold the resolution tradition though, thanks to the capability of video chatting that allowed us to still hold onto this connection though we were not proximally together. This was the first time I did not give my resolutions much thought and I basically said whatever came to mind at that moment and it came out to be pretty plausible and reasonable resolutions.

Now that it’s been a few weeks since you’re here, I am starting to envision 2016 as a year of promising happiness and novel experiences. I hope you bring the same vision to many others out there as well and keep this vision fine well into the thousand years ahead.

About Lynn Vo

I am just another mind with a laptop and fingers that type out the thoughts that invade my brain. I like to share these thoughts because it's extremely selfish of me to keep these thoughts open to only one person who has access to it. Share your thoughts with me and I'll keep them safe.
This entry was posted in life, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

