Augstralia to Seatember 

In the next 24 hours I’ll be embarking on my adventure to the land I’ve always dreamed of going, the big Island of Oceania. I’m not sure why I always wanted to go to Australia but I always told people that I want to go there when they asked before. I’m making it a reality, but right now it doesn’t feel like it just yet. It’s a weird feeling, traveling. I’m kind of in this zone where it seems so normal to travel so it’s not a big deal, but also so rare that it is a big deal. I’m trying to play it cool, because it is cool, extremely cool. 

I am recounting my travel adventures thus far and am so appreciative of the places I’ve been able to visit and the experiences I’ve had. This one seems to be a bit different because I feel like for the first time, this is an actual vacation. I’ll be lounging around and doing unpredictable activities and just enjoying the good life, instead of checking off a list of iconic places I must see with my own eyes and capture with my lens. It makes me nervous a little bit that I’ll be bored because I haven’t had this luxury because my youth is obsessed with the on-the-move type of traveling. This is indeed the spoiled worries of a traveler. Maybe it’s because it’s not so new anymore, the idea of being foreign and new to a country. I’m actually excited about experiencing the new and strange things. The fear that I used to have going to new places has diminished, with ounces left to keep me in place. In the back of my head I have these thoughts that tell me this isn’t a once in a lifetime experience (but I can’t say for sure) and maybe that is why I’m not so attached to the idea of making it the experience of a lifetime and will allow it to be what it will be instead of giving it expectations.

—–

And I have landed in Sydney. It doesn’t feel like I’m on the other side of the planet and equator just yet.

About Lynn Vo

I am just another mind with a laptop and fingers that type out the thoughts that invade my brain. I like to share these thoughts because it's extremely selfish of me to keep these thoughts open to only one person who has access to it. Share your thoughts with me and I'll keep them safe.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

