Another mix of thoughts on post-election results, not meant for persuasion or debate, just expression.

I’ve been more receptive lately, reading the many long posts from my peers and the articles they share on post-election thoughts. One side of me feels the sense of community strengthening with the expression of shared anxieties, the other side feels the shredding of community with the roused up anger and fault-finding words to make sense of an undesired outcome. The mix of emotions inevitable leads up to overthinking and the need for expression.

This is my first time realizing how my mentality can greatly affect my physicality. That night, watching the State colors change back and forth and the electoral votes number being certainly updated, there was hope but also a sense of rationality that this is happening in real-time, and this is happening because this is how democracy works. The coverage the next few days tried to make sense of the outcomes and how it happened, but they just greatly overlooked the fact that collective efforts from people are always unpredictable. It’s unpredictable because the loudest voice with the most vibration does the most. Yes, the results were certainly surprising and it is definitely a moment to be remembered for decades and even centuries. Either outcome would be like that. The scary part is now who won, but what society takes from it – the thinking that they are superior, the sadness that is felt which turns into anger, the lost open-mindedness and empathy for either side.

I actually felt ill from thinking so much about what the results of the election may mean for the country I live in and the things I may have to see in the next few years. I think many people share the same experience I had, and are still experiencing it. Evidenced from the outpouring of written expression on social media, it made me realized that the importance of politics in our lives is strong but never has the most powerful and permeating voice when it is threatening the way we believe the future should be.

From this event, I actually saw a beautiful thing rise in society. The unification of voices and movement to show that the negativity that seems to spark from the election has ceased. I just recently joined this group and am fortunate to be shared their many unique stories and feelings. Reading these stories makes me feel more connected to people in this world, in the same nation experiencing similar changes, sharing the fears and voicing the concerns that we all feel in our hearts and the worst case scenarios we imagine in our minds. It reinforces my belief that the human race does not abandon compassion in the face of fear.

I really hope that we learn from our past, as we always believe we do. The reasons for documenting our history is to learn from it, right? We are learning from it, but somehow it seems that we are learning its bad habits instead, so it’s more like we should not be learning from it because we don’t want the same things to happen again. Being stagnant is the fear. But we can choose. This is just a reminder of the world we live in and how it is shared.

About Lynn Vo

I am just another mind with a laptop and fingers that type out the thoughts that invade my brain. I like to share these thoughts because it's extremely selfish of me to keep these thoughts open to only one person who has access to it. Share your thoughts with me and I'll keep them safe.
This entry was posted in life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

